Nigeria Office
Abuja & Lagos

+234 803 899 8708 (Abuja)

+234 706 792 4497 (Lagos)


Follow fes_nigeria on Twitter


FES Westafrica

Upcoming activities

  • 2017 Activities Loading ....

    Past Activities

  • Africa Industrialisation Day, November 2016
  • Electoral Risk Management Training Workshop, Ondo, November 2016
  • Hamatan School, November 2016
  • The Election Management System Training, October 2016
  • SIRA Annual Lecture, November 2016
  • Launch of NLC Climate Change Publication, October 2016
  • COP22 Marrakesh Strategic Meeting on Climate Change, October 2016
  • FES Delegation visit, October 2016
  • APD and FES Nigeria @ 40, October 2016

See the highlights



Friedrich Ebert Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung
You are here: Home » About us » History & Mission

History & Mission

The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES) is a private, non-profit organisation committed to the values of Social Democracy. It was founded in 1925 as Germany’s first political foundation and bears the name of the first democratically elected president of Germany, Friedrich Ebert. Ebert, a Social Democrat, had risen from being a simple craftsman to hold the highest political office in the country. Against the background of his own experiences in political confrontation he had proposed the establishment of a foundation with the following aims:

Through such programmes the political legacy of Friedrich Ebert should be preserved: the promotion of freedom, solidarity and social justice through a democratic political process. The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung was banned by the Nazis in 1933 and re-established in 1947. It carries out its mission in Germany and internationally through its programmes of political education, international cooperation, study and research. At present, FES maintains more than 100 offices worldwide, of which 19 are in sub-Saharan Africa.

FES Nigeria is one of FES’ extensive network of more than 100 offices worldwide. We commenced work in Nigeria in 1976 and have offices in Abuja and Lagos.

Friedrich Ebert Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung